New Sights and Sounds

In case you’ve forgotten this blog even exists, I thought that today would be a good day to actually post something. 

 

I’ve been busy behind the scenes. Mostly with college, but in my spare time I’ve been working hard to add to and improve my musical instrument lineup. I’ve been blessed with a few new additions to the musical family since my last post. 

“The Big Bang”

No, I’m not talking science here. I’m talking “The Big Bang”, which is the nickname of my new combined drum set. It’s a little mixed, but it sounds pretty nice. The only real addition to my Royce kit is a nice blue Yamaha YD Series drum kit, along with its corresponding ride cymbal and stand. The two form a combo featuring five toms, an improved snare, and an extra kick drum that provides a deep tone. I could technically use the new kick drum as a double bass kick, but for now I’m using each kick drum for the specific needs of the sound I’m after. Granted, my current configuration is not quite perfect inasmuch as I have to bend over just a bit to reach the Yamaha ride. Other portions of the kit may be improved later on. 

Image

Image

 

I’ve also added some caution signs around the garage for the heck of things.

Image

 

Image

 

 

Keep an eye on my YouTube channel and subscribe if you haven’t already. I’m considering uploading a regular series of practice videos from time to time.

The Milestone II and the “Westerly”

If you follow me on Twitter, you probably know about my recent acquisition of a Peavey Milestone II Bass Guitar and a “Made in Mexico” Brown Sunburst Fender Telecaster. But if you don’t follow me on Twitter… I recently acquired a Peavey Milestone II Bass Guitar and a “Made in Mexico” Brown Sunburst Fender Telecaster, which I recently nicknamed the Westerly. I haven’t used them in songs yet, since I’ve been trying to learn how to play them, but I’ve got one new song in progress that includes the Westerly. 

Image

 

This [is] Not [a] Rock Concert (aka. “TNRC”)

Remember that band experiment I mentioned before? I’ve teamed up with the guitarist from that band for some jam sessions, and we’ve jammed off and on over the past few months. So far we’ve recorded one rough session, which I’ve not yet been given clearance to post (mostly because I haven’t asked for permission yet). Our rhythms are a little different, with the guitarist’s rhythm favoring a free-form folk sound, and we’re trying to find some common ground before we perform in concert (which is something we’re considering). 

I had a mockup of an album cover, if I could just find out where I hid that thing on my hard drive…

 

Lastly, I’ve got a new song in the works. I’m trying to feature the Westerly in the song, so it may be a few days (hopefully not longer, depends on what I’m up to) before I release it.

 

The sky’s the limit!

Leave a comment